Saturday, 20 January 2018

Review - Book of Fire by Michelle Kenney




Title: Book of Fire
Author: Michelle Kenney
Pages: 384
Publisher: HQ Digital
Release Date: 25th August 2017

Blurb from Goodreads: 

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told. 

Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist. They’re Outsiders.

Their home is a secret. Their lives are a secret. Arafel is a secret. 

An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family while protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her life long friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries, and allies, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever.

She’ll stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process?
 











My Review:

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to HQ Digital and NetGalley*




Talia and her twin brother Eli live in a forest community in a future England that has been affected by nuclear war.
They live in fear of their home being discovered by the dome-dwelling Insiders who have been led to believe that life outside the domes is impossible.
When some of Talia's family are taken by the Insiders, she will do anything to get them back. Even if it means going into the domes.
Why does the leader of the Insiders want the Book of Arafel - a book that has been given to Talia to keep safe by her grandfather - so much?
Will Talia make it out of the domes alive?


I was intrigued by the blurb for Book of Fire, but, unfortunately, I ended up disappointed.
From the very beginning, I struggled with the writing style. I found a lot of the sentences clunky and thought they could have flowed easier.
The characters and plot were okay but I lost interest several times.
I liked the Roman and mythological creature themes, but I wasn't a fan of the romance.
Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy Book of Fire as much as I hoped.


Overall this was an okay read.
 



 


Friday, 19 January 2018

Blog Tour + Giveaway - Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2) by Julie Cross


Find the tour schedule here.






Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)
by Julie Cross
Publication Date:  December 26, 2017
Publisher:  Entangled Teen


The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.








Purchase Links:
















Other Books In The Series:
 



 
 
 


About the Author



Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin's Press). She's also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.














Tour-wide giveaway